Elected Officials

2020 Montgomery Township Committee (l to r):  Kent Huang, Catherine Gural, Deputy Mayor Marvin Schuldiner, Mayor Sadaf Jaffer, Devra Keenan (1-02-20)

For meeting dates, go to Township Committee Meeting Agendas & Minutes Page



TOWNSHIP COMMITTEE – Organization and Duties

The Montgomery Township Committee consists of the Mayor and other four members of the Committee of Montgomery Township; having five members in total.

 All legislative power of the Township, except as provided by law, shall be exercised by the Township Committee pursuant to law, and in matters of health by the Board of Health.

The Township Committee shall organize annually during the first week in January, at which time it shall elect a Mayor from among its members. The Mayor shall preside at meetings of the Township Committee and perform such other duties as the Township Committee may prescribe. In the absence or disability of the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor shall act as Mayor.

Powers of Mayor

The Mayor shall have the power to appoint subcommittees of the Township Committee with the consent of the Township Committee. They shall sign and execute documents and agreements on behalf of the Township, when authorized. They shall have the power to make proclamations concerning holidays and events of interest in the Township. They shall exercise the ceremonial power of the Township and every other power usually exercised by township mayors or conferred upon him or her by law.

Meetings of the Township Committee

  1. Regular Meetings. The Township Committee shall meet at such times and places as are from time to time, determined by the Township Committee all in accordance with the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act.
  2. Special Meetings.A special meeting may be called at any time upon written request of a majority of the members of the Township Committee or by the Mayor. The request and call for a special meeting shall specify the purpose of the meeting and no business shall be transacted at any special meeting other than that specified. The call for a special meeting shall be filed with the Township Clerk and shall be served upon each Committee member as provided by law and such other notice shall be given as provided by law.


Matters of procedure not covered in the Township Code or statute shall be governed by the By-Laws of the Committee as the same have been adopted or modified by resolution.


A majority of the whole number of members of the Township Committee shall constitute a quorum, and no ordinance shall be adopted by the Township Committee without the affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum of the Committee. If a quorum is not present one-half hour after the appointed time for any meeting, the presiding officer or the clerk may declare the meeting adjourned.

Election of Deputy Mayor

The Township Committee shall elect, from among its members, a Deputy Mayor. In the absence or disability of the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor shall have all of the powers and duties of the Mayor.